The School of Education and Human Development (then the College of Education) awarded the Frost Professorship to Professor Erskine S. Dottin for the academic year 2009-2010, and he initiated the first Faculty Learning Community at the college.


Founding Members

Along with Mohammed Farouk, Lynne Miller, Bill Ritzi and Robert Vos, these individuals held a preliminary session on March 5, 2010 that was facilitated by a leading expert on faculty learning communities Dr. Milton Cox. The Learning Community held other learning sessions on April 16, 2010, May 14, 2010 and May 21, 2010, and then shared its learning with members of the College of Education and the larger University community on August 28, 2010.

Additional founding member: George O'Brien

The community members also participated actively in the Visible Thinking Conference held at FIU in March 2011. The community has also been asked by Youngstown State University to provide guidance in its development of teacher dispositions.

Since its inception, the community has broadened its membership with the addition to the community of Joy Blanchard, Charmaine DeFrancesco, Maria Fernandez, Daniela Foerch, Eva Frank, Flavia Iuspa, Helen Robbins, Patsy Self, Gwyn Senokossoff, Kathleen Sparrow, Maria Tsalikis, Lynn Yribarren and Meg Gardinier.

2011 Members

Community Engagement

Aside from Habits of Mind workshops and working at Charles Wyche Elementary from 2012-2013, we provide presentations, reports, resources and our history.

Visible Thinking Conference 2013